I Let Them In

So I thought I’d try out flash fiction :-). Well, I wrote it in a flash, it’s all fiction, and it’s not that long. I wrote it based on this prompt by Rachael C Marek, on a blog I discovered a couple of days ago. I’d love to hear your comments on whether I’m close to flash fiction or if I still have some work to do. Lol.


I let them in, all these people now trampling over my emotions; it was I who let them in, so I can’t blame anyone. Or can I?

They said they wanted to come in or did they?

Well, at least they asked me how I was doing. And I answered them.

You see, up till now, I had perfected the art of politeness and only engaging in superficial dialogue. It seemed to serve me and the world around me well.

I would only tell people for example that I wasn’t feeling too well when they asked me where I had been for the past couple of days. I wouldn’t tell them that my blood sugar had shot to insane levels, and I’d started to feel sick and be sick; that I had developed all the symptoms of a flu without the cold and had passed out in the hospital reception when I went to see the doctor; I wouldn’t tell them that the doctor had told me I had developed diabetic ketoacidosis and warned me to stop risking my life by not taking my insulin shots while gorging myself on sugary foods.

I would say that I had a touch of the flu and decided to rest it out. It was better than trying to explain. Moreover, it wouldn’t be letting them in.

I would only smile and say, “it’s a good day after all” when they asked me why I was so excited. I wouldn’t tell them that I had won the first prize in the competition I felt I had no chance at; I wouldn’t tell them that I could now afford to pay the deposit for a house; I wouldn’t tell them that, to my knowledge, no one in my family had ever owned their own house. I wouldn’t tell them I had broken the jinx.

Last week I told one of them something. By the water cooler, I let out a truth close to my heart, and today I heard two near-strangers talking about matters that came from the depths of my being.

They asked me how I was doing and for once, for some reason, I decided I would tell them.

I did, and this is what I get: My innermost thoughts splashed across the invisible pages of the office tabloids.

 

5 thoughts on “I Let Them In

  1. This is just lovely. I, myself, never go into any great detail about my life, even with friends sometimes, so this is a character I empathize with. I don’t think you should have any worries about writing anything. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

