Why Write?

So why do this? Why put words on paper/screen? Why choose this form of expression?

I’ve just always loved words. My earliest memories are of letters, not numbers, of storybooks and not sums.

I like the fact that you can put words together to express your insides to others so that as they hear or read it they get what you’re thinking. You’ve taken them on a journey through your mind, yet saved them the cost of doing the impossible – becoming you.

I like the fact that I can write things down and immediately feel like I’ve just had a conversation with someone.

I like that I can read words and visualise, in my own way, what the writer is seeing; I like that I can write words and give different shades of the same reality to each reader, depending on how vivid their imagination is.

Words last for ages, many lifetimes in fact. They can inform and transform…

It’s mainly for these reasons that I write.

I hope to get better at writing as I write more, read more, interact with more people virtually and otherwise, and as I experience more of life.

I blog because it’s a cool way to get loads of people to read what you write.

I blog because I’ve decided to take writing more seriously and it provides me with an outlet.

On this blog, you’ll find poetry, fiction, random thoughts, opinions, features… most will be laced with my personality and beliefs, with undertones that reflect my questions about life and the answers I’ve found to some of them.

Tell me, why do you write, blog, or both? Leave a comment, I’d like to hear.

One thought on “Why Write?

  1. This was so refreshing. Like the part about journeying through your mind and saving us the impossible task of becoming you ๐Ÿ˜ฎ.

    I wouldn’t call myself a writer but I’m passionate about a certain topic I write about ๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚. I feel that unless I release the thoughts in my mind into writing I will be stuck on the same thoughts. Writing makes room for more thoughts ๐Ÿค”๐Ÿ˜

    Like

Leave a Reply

