For Small Mercies

So today, I’m not sure what to write,

But I thought I’d type and see…

I’m grateful for life.

I’m grateful for family.

I’m grateful for friends.

I’m thankful that I have food to eat,

Water to drink and a roof over my head.

I’m thankful that no matter what, hope remains.

I’m grateful for what may seem to be small mercies

Because to others they’re not:

Someone is dead.

Someone is sick.

Someone has no family.

Someone has no friends.

Someone is contemplating suicide,

Wondering why the world is so dark

Dreading another day of depression,

Wondering when they’ll see the light.

The fact that I’m not in their shoes

Doesn’t mean I’m better

It’s just that I’m not them.

I’m grateful to God for the many reasons to smile,

For the ability to be creative,

Even in the smallest of ways.

While I’m here on this earth,

I pray that I’ll always be thankful

For mercies big and small.

 

Leave a Reply

