Guided

I decided this morning that for the next 29 days, i.e. till the 31st of December 2015, I’ll write and post on this blog every day. I hear it takes 21 days to form a habit, so I’ve added 8 days for good measure – just in case my psyche is more immune to habit-forming than others’.

It’s all in a bid to get off my backside and get going. I’m one of those people who spend a lot time on planning, believing the more work you do upfront the less you have to do later. That’s true in most cases, but I’m also often in danger of agonising over the plan so much that I almost don’t actualise the plan.

I say ‘almost’ because, thankfully I eventually do. That’s probably because there’s this part of me that demands something from me, and won’t rest until it gets it. Some people call it being driven, but because I know better, I say I’m being guided; the ‘oomph’ is lent to me by something that’s beyond me.

I do think I’ve always been guided, even when I don’t feel like I am being guided. I go through life, sometimes making what may seem to the untrained eye like bizarre decisions but, to me, they’re premeditated moves (well, maybe a few knee-jerk reactions too!). Somehow, I move ahead anyway and always to a good place. Eventually.

What I mean is, good always comes out of it: I grow, someone else grows, I learn, I go higher, I excel, I fail and find a story to tell so someone else doesn’t…

I read that all things work together for good for those who love God and whom He has called to fulfil His purpose. I therefore think that’s what the whole guiding thing is about – God has created me to fulfil a purpose and He’s guiding me along to make sure I do just that.

I don’t think it’s just me either, I think it’s everyone who lets Him guide them in spite of their fear, their weakness, their shakiness, their strength, their independence. We can all be guided.

Leave a Reply

